Scientific Research Contacts

The CounterACT Program is a trans-NIH effort, utilizing expertise across the 27 Institutes and Centers, involving specific partnerships with the NEI, NIAID, NIAMS, NICHD, NIEHS, NIDA and NINDS to execute the overall NIH Medical Research Program Directed Against Chemical Threats.

The civilian chemical threat spectrum includes chemical warfare agents, toxic industrial chemicals, and toxic pesticides.  Applicants are strongly encouraged to contact NIH Scientific/Research staff listed below to determine if their proposed threat agent(s) is of interest to the NIH CounterACT Program.

Dermal Toxicity and Vesicant-induced injuries:
Hung Tseng, Ph.D.
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
(301) 594-5032
tsengh@mail.nih.gov

Nervous System Toxicity and Cellular/Metabolic Poisons:
David A. Jett, Ph.D.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
(301) 496-6036
jettd@ninds.nih.gov

Shardell Spriggs, Ph.D.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
(301) 443-8189
shardell.spriggs@nih.gov

Ocular Toxicity:
Houmam Araj, Ph.D.
National Eye Institute (NEI)
(301) 451-2020
arajh@nei.nih.gov

Pharmaceutical based agents:
Kristopher Bough, Ph.D.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
(301) 443-9800
boughk@nih.gov

Pulmonary Toxicity:
Srikanth S. Nadadur, Ph.D.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
(919) 541-5327
nadadurs@niehs.nih.gov