ICARE: Interagency Collaborative to Advance Research in Epilepsy

Epilepsy research needs reach across the missions of multiple NIH Institutes and Centers and across many organizations outside the NIH.  As the primary NIH Institute for epilepsy research, NINDS leads this working group, with broad representation from the NIH, other Federal agencies, and the research and patient advocacy communities. Annual meetings provide a forum for sharing information about ongoing and planned epilepsy research activities, highlighting advances and discussing needs and opportunities, and promoting increased collaboration toward common research goals.

View All ICARE Meetings

ICARE Member Organizations and Primary Representatives

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
Walter Koroshetz, MD, ICARE Chair

Miriam Leenders, PhD
Program Director, Channels, Synapses, and Neural Circuits Cluster

Vicky Whittemore, PhD
Program Director, Channels, Synapses, and Neural Circuits Cluster

National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Bradley C. Wise, PhD
Chief, Division of Neuroscience, Neurobiology of Aging Branch

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
Qi-Ying Liu, MD, MSci
Program Director, Division of Neuroscience and Behavior

National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS)
Philip J. (P.J.) Brooks, PhD
Acting Director, Division of Rare Diseases Research Innovation

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Melissa Parisi, PhD
Branch Chief, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Branch

Tracy King, MD
Medical Officer, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Branch

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Roger Sorensen, PhD, MPA
Branch Chief, Division of Neuroscience and Behavior, Integrative Neuroscience Branch

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
Allison McCague
Science Policy Analyst, Policy and Program Analysis Branch

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
Kristin Burns, MD
Medical Officer, Division of Cardiovascular Sciences

Olga Tjurmina, PhD
Program Director, Division of Cardiovascular Sciences

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Marjorie Garvey, MB, BCh
Program Officer, Division of Translational Research

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
Rebecca Hawes, PhD
Chief (Acting), Data Analysis, Research, and Reporting Branch
Division of Science Policy and Public Liaison

Fogarty International Center (FIC)
UnJa Hayes, PhD
Program Officer, Division of International Training and Research

Other Federal Partners

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Rosemarie Kobau, MPH, MAPP
Epilepsy Program Team Lead, CDC Epilepsy Program
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention
and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)

Niu Tian, MD, PhD
Medical Officer, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention
and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)

Department of Defense (DOD)
Melissa Miller, PhD
Program Manager, Epilepsy Research Program
Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs 

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Phil Sheridan, MD
Medical Officer, Division of Neurology 
Products Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Donna Johnson, MHS
Public Health Analyst, Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)

Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)
Alan Towne, MD
Acting National Director, Epilepsy Centers of Excellence

Glenn Graham, MD
Deputy National Director, Neurology

Amanda Hunt, PhD
Program Manager, Office of Research and Development

Nongovernmental Organizations

American Epilepsy Society (AES)
Eileen Murray, MM, CAE 
Executive Director

Manisha Patel, PhD
AES President

AES/NINDS Epilepsy Research Benchmarks Stewards
Eric Marsh, MD, PhD
Benchmark Stewards Committee Co-Chair

Lori Isom, PhD
Benchmark Stewards Committee Co-Chair

Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy (CURE)
Laura Lubbers, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer

Beth Lewin Dean, MPA, MBA
Chief Executive Officer

Susan Axelrod, MBA
Founding Chair

Dravet Syndrome Foundation
Mary Anne Meskis
Executive Director

Veronica Hood, PhD
Scientific Director

Epilepsy Foundation (EF)
Jackie French, MD
Chief Medical and Innovation Officer

Caitlin Grzeskowiak, PhD
Senior Director of Research & Innovation

Epilepsy Leadership Council (ELC)
Gabi Connecker, MPH
Chair of ELC

Anne Gramiak, MPH, MSLOC
Senior Manager, Epilepsy Leadership Council and Partner Program, AES

Epilepsy Study Consortium 
Jackie French, MD
President and Director

Dennis Dlugos, MD, MSCE
Vice President

Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI)
Nora McGhee, PhD
Senior Program Officer, Clinical Effectiveness and Decision Science program

Jessica McCreary, MPH
Project Manager, Portfolio Data and Analytics

Pediatric Epilepsy Research Foundation (PERF)
Roy Elterman, MD

Deborah Hirtz, MD
Board Member

Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance (TS Alliance)
Kari Luther Rosbeck
President and Chief Executive Officer

Steve Roberds, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer