Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award (R37)

Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award (R37)

In October 1983, the U.S. Congress established the Senator Jacob Javits Awards in the Neurosciences, in honor of the late Senator Javits (R-NY), to be administered by the National Institute of Neurological and Communicative Disorders and Stroke (now the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, NINDS). Senator Javits, who was himself afflicted with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), was a strong advocate for support of research in a wide variety of disorders of the brain and nervous system. The Javits Award (R37) is a conditional, seven-year research grant given to scientists for their superior competence and outstanding productivity. Javits Awards provide long-term support to investigators with a history of exceptional talent, imagination, and preeminent scientific achievement. The award is initially for a period of four years, after which, based on an administrative review, an additional project period of three years may be awarded. Since the program’s inception in fiscal year 1984, more than 600 Javits Investigator Awards have been made.

Award Nominations

Investigators may not apply for a Javits Award. Nominations for this award are made by NINDS staff and by members of the NANDS Council. These nominations are then reviewed by the Director, NINDS and the NANDS Council. All Javits nominations must be approved by the NANDS Council prior to their award.

Award Eligibility

R01 applications on any topic relevant to the mission of the NINDS will be considered for Javits Awards; no deliberate effort will be made to maintain subject matter, institutional, or geographical balance. Competitive R01s judged by the initial review group to be highly meritorious are automatically eligible for consideration, provided they exemplify the investigator’s body of work. Because the Javits award is intended to recognize a body of work from an investigator with a history of exceptional performance, most selections will be competing continuation (Type 2) applications. Under rare circumstances, new (Type 1) applications may be considered.

Javits awards are made to distinguished investigators with consideration of the following:

  • An R01 application within payline.
  • Two consecutive cycles (i.e. 10 years) of NINDS R01 (or equivalent e.g. R56, DP1 and DP2) funding up to the present, with no funding lapses.
  • If it is an MPI application, all PIs must meet the 10-year continuous funding criteria.
  • Investigator has a record of substantial contributions at the “cutting edge” of neurological science
  • Investigator is a leader in the field (e.g. paradigm-shifting ideas, consistent funding, landmark publications; prestigious awards)
  • Investigator can be expected to continue to be highly productive during the seven-year award period
  • Investigator has established a record of service to NINDS and/or NIH (e.g. study section member, steering committee member)

Initial award period

The initial Notice of Grant Award will be for four years with a notation that an additional three years of support is conditional upon the receipt of a letter requesting three additional years of support and other supporting documentation.