NANDSC Membership Roster

NANDSC Membership Roster

Christopher Bever, Jr., M.D.,, is a professor in the departments of Neurology and Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences at the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore. He is also the Director of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Multiple Sclerosis Center of Excellence, East, and Associate Chief of Staff for Research and Development at the Baltimore VA Maryland Health Care System. Dr. Bever earned his medical degree from the University of Rochester in New York. He is a member of the American Neurological Association, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Academy of Neurology. His research focuses on developing therapies to treat the symptoms of multiple sclerosis. In addition, he is working with colleagues to develop robots to help with rehabilitation for neurological conditions.

Hollis T. Cline, Ph.D.,, is the chairman of the Department of Neuroscience and the Hahn Professor of Neuroscience, Departments of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California. Dr. Cline’s lab uses a wide range of advanced research techniques to study how sensory experience controls the wiring of the circuitry behind vision in the healthy and diseased brain. These techniques include genetically modifying individual brain cells, analyzing atomic level pictures of circuits, and monitoring neuronal activity with electrical recordings and real-time imaging. Dr. Cline is on the editorial boards for multiple journals and served as the president of the Society for Neuroscience in 2015-2016.

Susan Lloyd-Jones Dickinson, is the Executive Director of The Association for Frontotemporal Degeneration Radnor in Pennsylvania.

David B. Hackney, M.D., is a professor in the Department of Radiology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School, Boston. He also serves as the Assistant Dean for Faculty Development and Professor of Radiology at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Hackney’s research interests include magnetic resonance imaging of spinal cord injury and image processing approaches to brain tumor volume measurement and characterization. He has served on numerous NIH federal advisory boards and is a fellow of the American College of Radiology and the International Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.

Colonel Sidney R. Hinds, M.D., is the Brain Health Research Program Coordinator, DoD Blast Injury Research Program Coordinating Office and the Medical Advisor to the Principle Assistant for Research and Technology (PAR&T), Medical Research and Materiel Command at Fort Detrick, Maryland. He previously served as the National Director of the Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center (DVBIC), a DoD-funded collaboration with the Department of Veterans Affairs. He represents the DoD at meetings of the NIH Advisory Council on Neurological Disorders and Stroke.

As the national director of the DVBIC, Col. Hinds oversaw the entire organization’s mission to serve active duty military and veterans with traumatic brain injury (TBI) through state-of-the-art medical care and care coordination and through innovative clinical research and educational programs. When he was deployed to Afghanistan in 2012, he served as the theater neurology consultant and oversaw the standardization of care at 11 concussion care centers.

Col. Hinds completed his neurology internship and residency at the former Walter Reed Army Medical Center and the National Naval Medical Center from 1996 to 2000. He was a staff neurologist and then chief of neurology at Landstuhl Regional Medical Center from 2000 to 2004. He completed the Walter Reed Nuclear Medicine Fellowship Program in 2006 and has been a staff nuclear medicine physician in the national capital region since that time.

Karen C. Johnston, M.D., is a professor of neurology and public health sciences and chair of the Department of Neurology at the University of Virginia. Dr. Johnston’s research interests involve acute stroke care, clinical trials, and assessing clinical outcomes, and her research has focused on treatment and outcomes in acute ischemic stroke. She has participated in many NIH-NINDS study sections and data safety monitoring committees and is chair of the NIH-NINDS clinical research collaboration advisory team. She served as an associate editor of the journal Neurology and is founding editor of the neurology resident and fellow section.

Indira M. Raman, Ph.D., is the Bill and Gayle Cook Professor of Biological Sciences in the Department of Neurobiology at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. Currently, Dr. Raman studies the electrical properties of neurons in the cerebellum, a brain region important for the control of movements. Specifically, her lab is studying ways in which different neurons signal to each other as well as how their signaling changes during movement and while learning motor skills. She is the recipient of numerous awards and honors including the NINDS Jacob Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award, and she has served on several editorial boards including the Journal of Neuroscience, the Biophysical Journal, and eLife. Dr. Raman received her Ph.D. in neuroscience from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and did her postdoctoral training at the Vollum Institute in Portland, Oregon, and at Harvard Medical School, Boston.

Steven L. Roberds, Ph.D., is the Chief Scientific Officer of the Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance in Silver Spring, Maryland, a national voluntary health organization dedicated to finding a cure for and improving the lives of those affected by tuberous sclerosis complex (TSC), a genetic disorder that causes non-malignant tumors in the brain, eyes, heart, kidney, skin, and other organs. Since joining the TS Alliance in 2011, he has worked with scientists, clinicians, and members of industry, academia, and government agencies to advance research and treatments for TSC. Previously, Dr. Roberds served as an associate research fellow at Pfizer Global Research & Development and as a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Iowa, Iowa City. He received his Ph.D. in pharmacology at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, Tennessee.