Board of Scientific Counselors

The Board of Scientific Counselors for NINDS reviews and evaluates the NINDS intramural program and the work of individual scientists in this program.


Timothy A. Ryan, Ph.D.                       06/30/19
Tri-Institutional Professor
Department of Biochemistry
Weill Cornell Medical College
Cornell University
New York, NY  10021

Robert H. Brown, M.D., DPhil           06/30/19
Chair and Professor
Department of Neurology
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA  01655

Alex L. Kolodkin, Ph.D.                       06/30/18
Department of Neuroscience
Johns Hopkins University
School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD  21205

Diane Lipscombe, Ph.D.                        06/30/21
Brown Institute for Brain Science
Brown University
Providence, RI  02912

RichardO'Brien, M.D., Ph.D.               06/30/21
Professor and Chair
Department of Neurology
Duke University School of Medicine
Durham, NC  27704

Diego Restrepo, Ph.D.                            06/30/21
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Aurora, CO  80045

David G. Standaert, M.D., Ph.D.        06/30/21
Professor and Chair
Department of Neurology
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL  35294-0021

Clifford Woolf, M.D., Ph.D.                 06/30/19
F.M. Kirby Neurobiology Center
Children's Hospital Boston
Boston, MA  02115

Term ends on 6/30 of year noted.

Executive Secretary
Alan Koretsky, Ph.D.

Scientific Director
Division of Intramural Research
Bethesda, Maryland 20892