Ralph Lewis Sacco, M.D.

Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology 
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine 

Ralph Lewis Sacco, M.D., is Olemberg Family Chair in Neurological Disorders, professor and chair of neurology and executive director of the Evelyn McKnight Brain Institute at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, and chief of the Neurology Service at Jackson Memorial Hospital in Miami. He is also an adjunct professor of neurology at Columbia University in New York City. In addition, Dr. Sacco is leading a number of stroke studies investigating risk factors, outcomes, and genetics. He is the first neurologist to have served as president of the American Heart Association. Dr. Sacco is the current vice president of the American Academy of Neurology, chair of the International Committee of the American Heart Association, and sits on the board of the World Stroke Organization. In 2008, Dr. Sacco was the recipient of the NINDS Senator Jacob Javits Award in Neurosciences. Dr. Sacco received a B.S. from Cornell, Ithaca, N.Y., an M.D. from Boston University and an M.S. in epidemiology from Columbia University.