

PARKINSON'SDISEASE2014

ADVANCING RESEARCH, IMPROVING LIVES

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

January 6 - 7, 2014

Research Panel Participant List

Scientific Chair

Thomas J. Montine, MD, PhD

Alvord Professor and Chair Department of Pathology University of Washington Seattle, WA

Clinical Research Panel

<u>Co-Chairs</u>

Randall Bateman, MD Knight Distinguished Professor of Neurology Washington University School of Medicine St. Louis, MO

Andrew Siderowf, MD, MS Medical Director Avid Radiopharmaceuticals Philadelphia, PA

Panel Members

Christopher Coffey, PhD Professor The University of Iowa Iowa City, IA

Jordan Elm, PhD Assistant Professor of Biostatistics Medical University of South Carolina Charleston, SC

Nicholas A. Kozauer, MD Clinical Team Leader Center for Drug Evaluation and Research Food and Drug Administration Karen Marder, MD, MPH

Kerlin Professor of Neurology Columbia University New York, NY

Werner Poewe, MD Director, Department of Neurology Innsbruck Medical University Innsbruck, Austria

Bernard Ravina, MD

Medical Director Biogen Idec Cambridge, MA

Ira Shoulson, MD Professor of Neurology and Pharmacology Georgetown University Washington, DC

Lisa Shulman, MD Professor of Neurology University of Maryland School of Medicine Baltimore, MD

Philip A. Starr, MD, PhD Cakebread Endowed Chair Neurosurgery Program University of California, San Francisco San Francisco, CA

Matthew B. Stern, MD Director, Parkinson's Disease and Movement Disorder Center University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PA

Caroline Tanner, MD, PhD

Director, Clinical Research Parkinson's Institute Sunnyvale, CA

NINDS Liaisons

Wendy Galpern, MD, PhD

Program Director Office of Clinical Research NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD

Walter Koroshetz, MD

Deputy Director NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD

Translational Research Panel

Co-Chairs

John Dunlop, PhD Vice President AstraZeneca Cambridge, MA

Steven Finkbeiner, MD, PhD

Associate Director & Senior Investigator Gladstone Institute of Neurological Disease San Francisco, CA

Panel Members

Rudi Balling, PhD Director, Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine University of Luxembourg Esch-Sur-Alzette, Luxembourg

John Hardy, PhD, DSc

Professor & Chair of Department Institute of Neurology University College London **London, England** Wade Harper, PhD Professor of Cell Biology Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

Dean Jones, PhD

Professor, Department of Medicine Emory University Atlanta, GA

Hartmuth Kolb, PhD

Director, Neuroscience Biomarkers Division Johnson & Johnson San Diego, CA

Dimitri Krainc, MD, PhD

Professor and Chairman Department of Neurology Northwestern University Chicago, IL

Kalpana Merchant, PhD

Chief Scientific Officer Translational Science Eli Lilly and Company Indianapolis, IN

Clive Svendsen, PhD

Director, Regenerative Medicine Institute Cedars Sinai Health Systems Los Angeles, CA

Richard Youle, PhD

Senior Investigator NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD

NINDS Liaisons

Margaret Sutherland, PhD

Program Director Neurodegeneration Cluster NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD

Hao Wang, PhD

Program Director Office of Translational Research NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD

Basic Research Panel

Co-Chairs

Virginia M-Y Lee, PhD

Director, Center for Neurodegenerative Disease Research University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PA

Harry T. Orr, PhD

Tulloch Professor of Genetics University of Minnesota Minneapolis, MN

Panel Members

Ted M. Dawson, MD, PhD Director, Institute of Cell Engineering Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Baltimore, MD

Robert Edwards, MD

Professor, Neurology and Physiology University of California, San Francisco San Francisco, CA

Mel Feany, MD, PhD

Professor of Pathology Brigham and Women's Hospital Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

Ann Graybiel, PhD

Institute Professor Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA

Warren Grill, PhD Professor of Biomedical Engineering Duke University Durham, NC

Hilal Lashuel, PhD

Associate Professor Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne, Switzerland

Kendall H. Lee, MD, PhD

Associate Professor Physiology and Biomedical Engineering Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

Michael Lee, PhD

Professor of Neuroscience University of Minnesota Minneapolis, MN

Mark Schnitzer, PhD

Associate Professor Biological Sciences and Applied Physics Stanford University School of Medicine Stanford, CA

Andrew Singleton, PhD

Lab Chief NIA, NIH Bethesda, MD

J. Paul Taylor, MD, PhD

Faculty, Developmental Neurobiology St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Memphis, TN

NINDS Liaisons

Katrina Gwinn, MD

Program Director Neurogenetics Cluster NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD

Kip Ludwig, PhD

Program Director Repair and Plasticity Cluster NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD

Anna Taylor, PhD

Health Science Specialist Division of Extramural Research NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD



PARKINSON'SDISEASE2014

ADVANCING RESEARCH, IMPROVING LIVES

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

January 6 - 7, 2014

Stakeholder Panel Members

<u>Chair</u>

NINDS Liaison

Amy Comstock Rick, JD Chief Executive Officer Parkinson's Action Network Washington, DC

Panelists

Ann C. Bonham, PhD Chief Scientific Officer Association of American Medical Colleges Washington, DC

Story C. Landis, PhD Director NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD

Bernard Ravina, MD Medical Director Biogen Idec Cambridge, MA

Todd Sherer, PhD

Chief Executive Officer The Michael J. Fox Foundation New York, NY

David Sulzer, PhD Professor Columbia University New York, NY **Beth-Anne Sieber, PhD** Program Director Neurodegeneration Cluster NINDS, NIH Bethesda, MD



PARKINSON'SDISEASE2014

ADVANCING RESEARCH, IMPROVING

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

January 6 - 7, 2014

LIVES

NINDS/NIH Planning Team

Story C. Landis, PhD Director NINDS, NIH

Walter Koroshetz, MD Deputy Director NINDS, NIH

Planning Team Leaders

Beth-Anne Sieber, PhD Program Director Neurodegeneration Cluster NINDS, NIH

Christine Torborg, PhD Health Science Policy Analyst Office of Science Policy & Planning NINDS, NIH

Research Panel Liaisons

Wendy Galpern, MD, PhD Program Director Office of Clinical Research NINDS, NIH

Katrina Gwinn, MD Program Director Neurogenetics Cluster NINDS, NIH

Kip Ludwig, PhD Program Director Repair and Plasticity Cluster NINDS, NIH **Ernest Lyons, PhD** Chief, Scientific Review Branch NINDS, NIH

Margaret Sutherland, PhD Program Director Neurodegeneration Cluster NINDS, NIH

Anna Taylor, PhD Health Science Specialist Division of Extramural Research NINDS, NIH

Hao Wang, PhD Program Director Office of Translational Research NINDS, NIH

Planning Team Members

Laurie Arrants Technology Development Coordinator NINDS, NIH

Sean Bell Program Assistant Neurodegeneration Cluster NINDS, NIH

William Benzing, PhD Scientific Review Officer NINDS, NIH Marian Emr Director, Office of Communications & Public Liaison NINDS, NIH

Robert Finkelstein, PhD Director, Division of Extramural Research NINDS, NIH

Petra Kaufmann, MD, MSc Director, Office of Clinical Research NINDS, NIH

Jaron Lockett Management Intern, Office of the Director NINDS, NIH

Birgit Neuhuber, PhD Scientific Review Officer NINDS, NIH

Creighton H. Phelps, PhD Deputy Director, Division of Neuroscience NIA, NIH

Shanta Rajaram, PhD Scientific Review Officer NINDS, NIH

Rajesh Ranganathan, PhD Director, Office of Translational Research NINDS, NIH

Paul Scott, PhD Director, Office of Science Policy & Planning NINDS, NIH

Patricia Walicke, MD, PhD Medical Officer Office of Clinical Research NINDS, NIH

Pamela Wernett, PhD

Program Analyst Neurodegeneration Cluster NINDS, NIH

Alan Willard, PhD

Deputy Director, Extramural Research NINDS, NIH