TwitterRSSFacebookDirectors Blog
  Disorders A - Z:   A    B   C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

You Are Here: Home  »  About NINDS  »  NINDS Plans  »  Strategic Planning  » 

Skip secondary menu

Strategic Planning Modules

Four planning modules, each consisting of an external advisory panel assisted by an NINDS staff working group, made recommendations about priorities and strategies for the NINDS over the next five to ten years in the areas of basic, clinical, translational, and disease research. The advisory panels' findings and recommendations were a primary and significant source of input into the new NINDS Strategic Plan. However, NINDS assumes the ultimate responsibility for developing and implementing its strategic plan, and the panel reports available below reflect the views of the external panelists and not necessarily those of the NINDS.

  • The Basic Module focused on basic science research, which provides fundamental understanding of normal nervous system function and disease mechanisms.

  • The Translational Module focused on research to develop potential therapies and advance them to the point that they can be tested in clinical trials.

  • The Clinical Module focused on all aspects of clinical research, which includes clinical trials, epidemiological and natural history studies, and other research in humans.

  • The Disease Module looked at research planning from the perspective of the hundreds of diseases within the NINDS mission.

In making their recommendations, the modules took into account both a review of ongoing NINDS activities and their strengths, weaknesses and gaps, as well as a look forward to challenges and opportunities that lie ahead.

View the Basic Panel report

Basic Module Advisory Panel
Gary Westbrook, M.D. (Chair), Vollum Institute, Oregon Health Sciences University
Dora Angelaki, Ph.D., Washington University School of Medicine
Bruce Bean, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School
David Bredt, M.D., Ph.D., Eli Lilly and Company
Dan Feldman, Ph.D., Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute, University of California, Berkeley
David Ginty, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Sabine Kastner, M.D., Ph.D., Princeton University
Pat Levitt, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Earl Miller, Ph.D., Picower Institute for Learning and Memory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Robert Miller, Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
Josh Sanes, Ph.D., Center for Brain Science, Harvard University
Leslie Vosshall, Ph.D., Rockefeller University

View the Translational Panel report

Translational Module Advisory Panel
Howard J. Federoff, M.D., Ph.D. (co-chair), Georgetown University
John McCall, Ph.D. (co-chair), PharMac, LLC
Christopher Austin, M.D., National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health
Robi Blumenstein, MRSSI, Inc.
Robert H. Brown, Jr., M.D., D.Phil., Massachusetts General Hospital
Cristina Csimma, Pharm.D., M.H.P., Clarus Ventures, LLC
Warren Grill, Ph.D., Duke University
Franz F. Hefti, Ph.D., Avid Radiopharmaceuticals Inc.
Peter T. Lansbury, Jr., Ph.D., Harvard Medical School
William D. Matthew, Ph.D., UCB Group, Schwarz Biosciences, Inc.
Douglas R. Morton, Jr., Ph.D., PharmMor Consulting, LLC
Dinah Sah, Ph.D., Alnylam Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Anne B. Young, M.D., Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital

View the Clinical Panel report

Clinical Module Advisory Panel
Merit Cudkowicz, M.D. (co-chair), Massachusetts General Hospital
Dan Lowenstein, M.D. (co-chair), University of California, San Francisco
Sander Connolly, M.D., Columbia University Medical Center
Gary Cutter, Ph.D., University of Alabama
Patrick A. Griffith, M.D., Meharry Medical College
Berch Griggs, M.D., University of Rochester Medical Center
S. Claiborne Johnston, M.D., Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
Karl Kieburtz, M.D., University of Rochester Medical Center
Karen Marder, M.D., Columbia University Medical Center
Justin McArthur, M.D., Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Henry McFarland, M.D., NINDS Intramural
Laura Ment, M.D., Yale University
Gilmore O'Neill, M.B., M.Med.Sc., MRCPI, Massachusetts General Hospital
Steven Piantadosi, M.D., Ph.D., Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Jeffrey L. Saver, M.D., University of California, Los Angeles
A. Gregory Sorensen, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital
Caroline Tanner, M.D., Ph.D., The Parkinson's Institute

View the Disease Panel report

Disease Module Advisory Panel
Henry L. Paulson, M.D., Ph.D. (co-chair), University of Michigan
Timothy A. Pedley, M.D. (co-chair), Columbia University Medical Center
Susan Axelrod, Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy
Stephen A. Back, M.D., Ph.D., Oregon Health Sciences University
Nicholas M. Barbaro, M.D., Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
Robert H. Brown, M.D., Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital
Lucie Bruijn, Ph.D., The ALS Association
Kenneth Fischbeck, M.D., NINDS Intramural
Daniel H. Geschwind, M.D., Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Cynthia Joyce, M.S., SMA Foundation
Maiken Nedergaard, M.D., Ph.D., University of Rochester
Harry T. Orr, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
John K. Park, M.D., NINDS Intramural
Scott L. Pomeroy, M.D., Ph.D., Children's Hospital Boston
Barbara G. Vickrey, M.D., M.P.H., University of California, Los Angeles, School of Medicine

Review the NINDS Strategic Planning Process

Last Modified October 18, 2015